About our Organization

In 1905, 26 dedicated community volunteers formed the Wellington Volunteer Fire Department. Nearly 50 years later, in 1951, community members formed a statutory special district, and the Wellington Fire Protection District became the governing body overseeing the provision of emergency response in much of northern Larimer County. An elected, five-member Board of Directors, which provides direction to the Fire Chief, guides the District. In 2013, the District hired its first paid Fire Chief. Since then Wellington Fire Protection District has grown to a combination department with over 40 paid and volunteer personnel. 

Fire Chief: Fire Chief Gary Green

District Size: 288 square miles

District Population: 15,000 plus 

Line Personnel: 
18 Full-time Firefighters
20 Volunteer Firefighters

Administrative Personnel:

Staffed Stations: 2
  Station 1: 8130 3rd St., Wellington CO 80549
  Station 2: 108 W. CR. 66, Fort Collins, CO 80524

WFPD District Map Update june 21