Main Streets News

Posted on: August 17, 2015

Wellington Main Streets one of four newest Main Street Communities

The Colorado Department of Local Affairs (DOLA) Colorado Main Street program announced four cities as its newest Main Street Communities. They are: Leadville, Elizabeth, Wellington and Central City.
Acceptance into the Main Street program signifies the communities' commitment to downtown revitalization and historic preservation. The program advocates community self-reliance, local empowerment, and the rebuilding of central business districts based on their traditional assets of unique architecture, personal service, and local ownership. These four cities will join Colorado 14 other Main Street communities.
"The Main Street program provides a comprehensive approach to downtown revitalization,"says Irv Halter, DOLA executive director. "The approach includes economic development to expand existing businesses, attract new ones and create jobs."
in 2014, Main Street Communities created 48 new businesses, and saw a 54 percent increase in job creation with 139 full-time and 70 part-time new positions.
DOLA manages the Main Street program which is funded in part by a grant from the State Historical Fund.
For more information, contact Wellington Main Streets executive director, Wendy DuBord at 970-846-5234 or

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Main Streets News